Finalists Announced – Online Retail Industry Awards

by |

After much deliberation and debate, the finalists for the inaugural Online Retail Industry Awards have emerged.

Congratulations to the shortlisted entrants who proceed to the final stages of judging, with one winner to be announced for each category, and one contender from all categories to be named Online Retailer of the Year for 2010. For the entrants who missed out in 2010, be assured the judges faced some difficult decisions in nominating finalists but ultimately there were some standout qualities that distinguished the shortlisted entries.

Overall, the judging panel was impressed with the calibre of nominations, and delighted to see some lesser-known names in the industry showing high standards of excellence. “There were some clear themes which reflect the growing maturity of the industry in Australia,” said Andy Powell, Chair of the ORIA Judging Panel and Director of Multichannel, Deloitte. “These included: – Innovative business models in which simple and compelling customer value propositions are articulated and well-executed – Online offerings targeting niche services or selling to the “long tail” – Improving quality of customer experience in both look and feel and real customer service options such as click-to-chat and offline shopping support – General focus on the credentialing of product offers through peer reviews, testimonials and community-generated feedback

“Looking beyond the obvious elements like useability, look and feel, and content quality, we have been seeking those entrants who demonstrated a sympathetic understanding of who comes to their business and why they’re there, and can translate that understanding into a compelling and enriching experience. As for the ‘lesser known names’ it just proves you don’t have to be big to be good …

“The first-ever ORIAs program will not only provide a standard for internet retailers to strive for, but will establish an important focus on what constitutes best practice and excellence in this industry. It’s a critical step in the development of an internationally competitive local industry.

“These awards allow us to establish a standard of excellence baseline against which developments in each of the category areas can be assessed at industry level going forward,” said Powell. “Put simply, the winners in each category will exemplify what others need to achieve to stay competitive, which will drive the advancement of the industry.”

The Gala Awards Ceremony for the ORIAs will be held at the Parkside Ballroom, Sydney Convention & Exhibition Centre, Darling Harbour on Thursday 8 July at 7pm. Not only will it be an opportunity to celebrate the winners, it will be the single biggest social gathering of Australian and international retail influencers in this country ever.

2010 ONLINE RETAIL INDUSTRY AWARDS FINALISTS:

1. Best Pure-Play Online Retailer
Deals Direct | www.dealsdirect.com.au
Appliances Online | www.appliancesonline.com.au
Little Dance Invitations | www.littledanceinvitations.com.au
Trixan Body | www.trixanbody.com.au

2. Best Multichannel Retailer
The Warehouse | www.thewarehouse.co.nz
Clive Peeters | www.clivepeeters.com.au
ABC Shop | www.shop.abc.net.au
Supre | www.supre.com.au
Oxfam | www.oxfamshop.org.au
Proactiv | www.proactiv.com.au

3. Best New Online Retailer
Clive Peeters | www.clivepeeters.com.au
JasonL | www.jasonl.com.au
Birdsnest | www.birdsnest.com.au
Trixan Body | www.trixanbody.com.au
Shoes of Prey | www.shoesofprey.com

4. Best Use of Technology
JasonL | www.jasonl.com.au
City Beach | www.citybeach.com.au
Metro Cleaning Services | http://metro.cleverappz.com.au
Shoes of Prey | www.shoesofprey.com
Jeans West | www.jeanswest.com.au
Trixan Body | www.trixanbody.com.au

5. Most Innovative Online Retailer
Shoes of Prey | www.shoesofprey.com
Domino’s | www.dominos.com.au
General Pants | www.generalpants.com.au
Sportsgirl | www.sportsgirl.com.au

6. Best Online Retail Marketing Initiative
Shoes of Prey | www.shoesofprey.com
Red Balloon | www.redballoon.com.au
Personalised Plates Queensland | www.ppq.com.au
DealsDirect | www.dealsdirect.com.au
General Pants | www.generalpants.com.au

7. Best Customer Experience
Mooo | www.mooo.com.au
DealsDirect | www.dealsdirect.com.au
Appliances Online | www.appliancesonline.com.au
BirdsNest | www.birdsnest.com.au
Clive Peeters | www.clivepeeters.com.au
Proactiv | www.proactiv.com.au

8. Emerging Star
Lasoo | www.lasoo.com.au
Scoopon | www.scoopon.com.au
OzScopes | www.ozscopes.com.au
Buyinvite | www.buyinvite.com.au

9. Best Site Design
Proactiv | www.proactiv.com.au
Bras n Things | www.brasnthings.com
JasonL | www.jasonl.com.au
Barkers | www.barkersonline.co.nz
Crumpler | www.crumpler.com.au
Big Brown Box | www.bigbrownbox.com.au

10. Industry Recognition Award
Matt Bullock (eWAY) | www.eway.com.au
Paul Marshall (Salmat) | www.salmat.com.au
Ted’s | www.teds.com.au
Appliances Online | www.appliancesonline.com.au
Freez Clothing | www.freez.com.au
White Labelled | www.whitelabelled.com.au